What will resetting my iphone do?


  • Kelly
  • July 25, 2022,
  • 6772

Hard resetting means removing everything that is on your iPhone. Performing a hard reset wipes out all the data from your device. On the flip side, soft reset pertains to simply turning off your phone and restarting it.

What is a soft reset of the iPhone?

With a soft reset, the operating system is rebooted and all services reloaded. If you use this method of resetting, all your personal data, files and apps on the device will remain unchanged. To reboot the Apple iPhone XR, press and release the volume up button.

What is the difference between reset and hard reset iPhone?

A hard reset is a simple rebooting of your phone. It does not delete any data. 2. A factory reset deletes all data from your phone and restores it to its original factory settings.

What do I do after I reset my iPhone?

Once you decide a reset is necessary, you should back up your iPhone. This process will make sure you still have a copy of your contacts, photos, and other information that will be lost during the reset process. You can back up your phone to your desktop, via iTunes, or to iCloud.

What do I do if my iPhone is stuck on factory reset?

Solution: The first thing that you will need to do in this case is to force the phone to restart.

  1. Quickly press and release the Volume Up button.
  2. Then quickly press and release the Volume Down button.
  3. Finally, press and hold the Side/Power button until the Apple logo appears.

What to do before factory reset iphone?

When you factory reset an iPhone, it's important to back up your data and sign out of your Apple ID before wiping it.

  1. Back up your iPhone to iCloud. First, back up your iPhone to iCloud so you don't lose any unsaved data.
  2. Sign out of your Apple ID.
  3. Factory reset your iPhone.

What does network reset do on iPhone?

Apple iPhone - Reset Network Settings

  1. Resetting network settings on your Apple® iPhone® resets Wi-Fi networks and passwords, cellular settings, and VPN settings.
  2. Can be performed while roaming internationally.

What would resetting your iPhone do?

The personal preferences for Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Sounds, General, and Privacy etc. will be removed but the rest of your iPhone data including photos, videos, music, calendar, messages etc. remain in the device. Follow on to your iPhone Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings.

Is it safe to reset my iPhone?

Most commonly, people reset their iPhone because they are experiencing major software errors, like issues connecting to networks or apps crashing. Resetting the phone to its factory settings should resolve these errors and restore normal functioning. It's also smart to reset your iPhone before selling it.

How do I reset my iPhone password without resetting it?

0:234:09First for iphone x or later is press and quickly release the volume up button then press and quicklyMoreFirst for iphone x or later is press and quickly release the volume up button then press and quickly release the volume.

How do I reset my iPhone X hard reset?

How to hard reset iPhone X

  1. Press and release the Volume Up button.
  2. Press and release the Volume Down button.
  3. Hold the Side button until the Apple logo appears on the screen.

What will happen if I reset my iPhone 4?

This reset option will erase all settings except your personal data. You will lose all Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and other networking settings, screen settings like dark mode and brightness, sound settings, home screen arrangement, system settings, and so on. Your personal data like files, email accounts, photos etc.

author
Ben Wright

Ben is the co-founder of MacScene. Ben is the biggest Apple fan. He's got an awesome collection of every piece of Apple tech and knows EVERYTHING about each of them. That's why he decided to start a blog and share his passion. To help people new to Apple navigate the ecosystem better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required