Now, when you activate the 'Mark As Lost' feature, your smartphone is automatically put in Lost Mode. This mode locks your device remotely, displays a custom message on the screen, and renders your phone unusable to whoever took it. With your iPhone in Lost Mode, your phone number appears on the lock screen.
When a device is marked as lost, one of these status notes appears below the Mark As Lost section: Pending: If the device isn't connected to a Wi-Fi or cellular network when you mark it as lost, Pending appears until the device goes online again. Activated: Once the device goes online, the device is marked as lost.
Once you have marked an AirTag as lost, if someone finds it, all they need to do is bring it close to their iPhone or Android device with NFC enabled. Doing this will bring up a notification with a link to a website URL that contains your lost message and phone number.
When Lost Mode is enabled, the Find My network will begin searching for your AirPods. Once they're found, you'll receive an alert on your iPhone with their current location. Trigger your AirPods Pro or AirPods Max to play sounds, making it easier to find them.
Activating Lost Mode immediately disables credit or debit cards associated with Apple Pay, activates Low Power mode for maximum battery life, and renders all features on the iPhone, such as Siri, inaccessible.
With Lost Mode turned on, your headphones will regularly send out a Bluetooth signal, which any other Apple device in range can detect and report to the Find My network. The final result is an indicator on your map, showing you the location of your device.
Turn on Lost Mode:
What Happens When a Lost iPhone is Wiped? Lost Mode locks down the iPhone and prevents it from being accessed in iTunes when plugged into a computer, but it can't stop someone from wiping an iPhone via iTunes using recovery mode or DFU mode. Even if your iPhone is fully erased, the person who has it can't use it.
The lost phone gets a notification. On the map, you'll get info about where the phone is. The location is approximate and might not be accurate. If your phone can't be found, you'll see its last known location, if available.
When an iPhone is in Lost Mode, it will be locked and will display a custom message. At the same time, it will turn on tracking so that you can see the location of the device, even if your location services were originally disabled.
Once Lost Mode is enabled, the device will be locked down to the following screen and no action can be performed on the device. More often than not, devices are misplaced within the organization premises. Consider a scenario where an employee has misplaced his iPhone in his office.
If it's reported as lost - they won't buy it. If it's reported as stolen - they won't buy it. And they'll inform the police.