How to delete photos off mac without deleting from icloud?


  • Kelly
  • July 30, 2022,
  • 9411

Question: Q: Delete photos from mac but not iCloud Open System Preferences and select the iCloud tab. In the tab you'll see a checkmark next to Photos. Click on the checkmark to uncheck it and you'll be asked if you want to delete the photos from your Mac. Say yes.

Does deleting Photos from Mac delete from iCloud?

Once you have turned off sync for photos, the photos you delete from your Mac will no longer be deleted from iCloud. If you didn't already delete all of your photos, you may now delete any photos you don't want on your Mac. For more information on iCloud storage, check out the Apple Support page.

How to turn off iCloud without deleting photos?

How to turn off iCloud Photo Library without deleting photos on your iPhone

  1. Within the Settings app, tap your name.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Tap Photos.
  4. Toggle iCloud Photos to the Off position.
  5. Tap Download Photos & Videos.

How to delete photos from iCloud Photos on Mac?

Select the files you want to delete and press the Delete key, then click Delete. The deleted photos now appear in the Recently Deleted album. You must delete them from the Recently Deleted album to free up iCloud storage space. Click the Recently Deleted album in the sidebar, then select the photos to be deleted.

How to delete photos from iCloud on Mac?

How to delete photos from iCloud in a web browser

  1. Navigate to icloud.com and sign in with your Apple ID.
  2. Click on the Photos app.
  3. Choose a photo you want to delete and click on it.
  4. To select more, hold down the Command key and click on them.
  5. Click in the trash can in the toolbar at the top of the photos window.

Is it safe to delete photos from iCloud on Mac?

When you delete a photo or video from the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and any other devices where you're signed in to iCloud Photos. It also no longer counts towards your iCloud storage.

Can I delete photos from iPad without deleting from iCloud?

Deleting pictures from iCloud without removing them from your phone requires two steps: turning off iCloud Photos and deleting the images. Follow these instructions to turn off iCloud Photos: Open the Settings app. Scroll down and tap Photos.

How do you delete photos from iPad without deleting from iCloud?

0:001:53Open your settings. App then press your apple id. Then press icloud press photos then next to icloudMoreOpen your settings. App then press your apple id. Then press icloud press photos then next to icloud photos press the toggle to disable photo sharing.

How to recover deleted photos from iCloud on Mac?

The following procedure should be used to recover deleted photos from iCloud.

  1. Go to iCloud.com and login with your Apple ID.
  2. Go to Photos in iCloud.
  3. Click on the Recently Deleted album in the sidebar.
  4. Select the photos you want to retrieve.
  5. Click the Recover button.

How to delete all photos from icloud on mac?

How do I remove all iCloud Photos content from iCloud and my devices?

  1. On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Manage Storage > Photos, then tap Disable & Delete.
  2. On your Mac, go to Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Apple ID. Choose iCloud, then click Manage.

How to delete photos from icloud?

Delete photos and videos

  1. In Photos on iCloud.com, select the photos or videos you want to delete, or double-click a single photo or video.
  2. Click. , then click Delete. Deleted photos and videos are placed in the Recently Deleted album, where they remain for 30 days before being permanently removed.

How to turn off icloud photos without deleting everything iphone?

How to Turn off iCloud Photos without Deleting Everything

  1. Backup Your Photos. Before turning off iCloud Photos, it is recommended to backup your photos and videos first.
  2. Turn off iCloud Photos. Go to Settings app app > Tap [your name] > Tap iCloud > Tap Photos > Turn off iCloud Photos.

Icloud deleted photos when deleted from phone?

How to Recover Deleted Photos from the Cloud, iPhone or Mac. To recover iCloud deleted photos, open Safari and connect tothe iCloud website. Log in with your Apple ID and make sure the account is associated with the iCloud Drive that hosts the files to restore. Once signed in, click the “Settings” button.

Does deleting photos on iCloud delete from phone?

If you want to remove all your photos from both your device and from your iCloud account, you can do it by just deleting them on your phone. It works in reverse too, so whenever you delete a photo from your iCloud it will be deleted from your device.

Does deleting a photo on iPhone delete it from iCloud?

All replies. If you have iCloud Photo Library turned on, any photos you delete from the phone will also be deleted from iCloud and from any other devices connected to that iCloud Photo Library.

Will deleting photos from Mac delete from iPhone?

Note that if you've enabled iCloud Photo Library, any photos and videos you delete on your Mac are also deleted on any other devices for which ‌iCloud Photo Library‌ is also enabled (your iPhone or iPad, for example).

author
Ben Wright

Ben is the co-founder of MacScene. Ben is the biggest Apple fan. He's got an awesome collection of every piece of Apple tech and knows EVERYTHING about each of them. That's why he decided to start a blog and share his passion. To help people new to Apple navigate the ecosystem better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required