How to delete photos off mac but not icloud?


  • Kelly
  • August 07, 2022,
  • 5628

Select the files you want to delete and press the Delete key, then click Delete. The deleted photos now appear in the Recently Deleted album. You must delete them from the Recently Deleted album to free up iCloud storage space. Click the Recently Deleted album in the sidebar, then select the photos to be deleted.

How to delete photos from iCloud on Mac?

How to delete photos from iCloud in a web browser

  1. Navigate to icloud.com and sign in with your Apple ID.
  2. Click on the Photos app.
  3. Choose a photo you want to delete and click on it.
  4. To select more, hold down the Command key and click on them.
  5. Click in the trash can in the toolbar at the top of the photos window.

How to turn off iCloud without deleting photos?

How to turn off iCloud Photo Library without deleting photos on your iPhone

  1. Within the Settings app, tap your name.
  2. Tap iCloud.
  3. Tap Photos.
  4. Toggle iCloud Photos to the Off position.
  5. Tap Download Photos & Videos.

How do you delete photos off device but not off iCloud?

Tap on "iCloud Photos" and "My Photo Stream" so the green toggle isn't showing – this will delete the iCloud album from your iPhone, but leave your album in iCloud intact.

Is it safe to delete photos from iCloud on Mac?

When you delete a photo or video from the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and any other devices where you're signed in to iCloud Photos. It also no longer counts towards your iCloud storage.

How to recover deleted photos from iCloud on Mac?

The following procedure should be used to recover deleted photos from iCloud.

  1. Go to iCloud.com and login with your Apple ID.
  2. Go to Photos in iCloud.
  3. Click on the Recently Deleted album in the sidebar.
  4. Select the photos you want to retrieve.
  5. Click the Recover button.

How to delete all photos from icloud on mac?

How do I remove all iCloud Photos content from iCloud and my devices?

  1. On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Manage Storage > Photos, then tap Disable & Delete.
  2. On your Mac, go to Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Apple ID. Choose iCloud, then click Manage.

Will deleting Google Photos delete Icloud photos?

If you don't want to use the Google Photos app at all, you should go ahead and simply uninstall it from your iPhone. Uninstalling the app will not delete any photo from your iPhone. Even if photos are saved in Google Photos, they will stay in the cloud. You can view them on photos.google.com.

Does deleting photos from Mac delete from iCloud?

Question: Q: Delete photos from mac but not iCloud Open System Preferences and select the iCloud tab. In the tab you'll see a checkmark next to Photos. Click on the checkmark to uncheck it and you'll be asked if you want to delete the photos from your Mac. Say yes.

Does deleting Photos from Mac delete from iCloud?

Once you have turned off sync for photos, the photos you delete from your Mac will no longer be deleted from iCloud. If you didn't already delete all of your photos, you may now delete any photos you don't want on your Mac. For more information on iCloud storage, check out the Apple Support page.

Does deleting Google Photos delete iCloud photos?

When someone tries to delete a photo from the Google Photos app on the iPhone, they are stunned to see that the photo gets deleted from their device and iCloud too. Even when a person uses the Free up storage option in Google Photos, it will delete photos from iCloud.

How to turn off icloud photos without deleting everything iphone?

How to Turn off iCloud Photos without Deleting Everything

  1. Backup Your Photos. Before turning off iCloud Photos, it is recommended to backup your photos and videos first.
  2. Turn off iCloud Photos. Go to Settings app app > Tap [your name] > Tap iCloud > Tap Photos > Turn off iCloud Photos.

How to keep photos off icloud?

How to turn off iCloud photos. If you want your photos to remain on device, choose “Download and Keep originals”. Then, turn off iCloud Photos using the toggle.

Will downgrading iCloud delete photos?

After you downgrade your iCloud storage, you won't lose photos immediately after downgrading your iCloud storage, but it does make some of them inaccessible. This is what Apple claims on its official site: “If your iCloud storage exceeds your new storage plan capacity, iCloud won't sync or update your information.

Are photos on iCloud automatically deleted?

How to delete iPhone photos using iCloud. As mentioned, any photo or video you delete on your phone will automatically be deleted from your iCloud account if you have syncing turned on. iCloud syncing is the default setting, so it will be on unless you've manually switched it off.

author
Ben Wright

Ben is the co-founder of MacScene. Ben is the biggest Apple fan. He's got an awesome collection of every piece of Apple tech and knows EVERYTHING about each of them. That's why he decided to start a blog and share his passion. To help people new to Apple navigate the ecosystem better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required