If you don't want to use the Google Photos app at all, you should go ahead and simply uninstall it from your iPhone. Uninstalling the app will not delete any photo from your iPhone. Even if photos are saved in Google Photos, they will stay in the cloud. You can view them on photos.google.com.
From your iPhone, iPad, or computer, sign in to iCloud.com. Tap the Photos app. Select the photos or videos that you want to delete. Tap Delete , then tap Delete.
How to delete photos off your iPhone without deleting them from iCloud
All replies. If you have iCloud Photo Library turned on, any photos you delete from the phone will also be deleted from iCloud and from any other devices connected to that iCloud Photo Library.
When someone tries to delete a photo from the Google Photos app on the iPhone, they are stunned to see that the photo gets deleted from their device and iCloud too. Even when a person uses the Free up storage option in Google Photos, it will delete photos from iCloud.
So the answer to “Does restoring iPhone delete photos or iCloud photos” is it will erase your photos on internal storage and leave photos on iCloud. If you want to keep your photos on your iPhone, you can back up your iPhone picture with AOMEI MBackupper.
Reduce the storage for iCloud Photos by deleting photos and videos that you don't want to keep from your iOS devices or on iCloud.com. Your device will immediately remove any photos and videos that you delete and they won't be available for recovery in your Recently Deleted album.
If you delete photos on iPhone, they are also deleted from iCloud photos library and other devices using the same Apple ID. But you can check the Recently Deleted album on your iPhone or in iCloud photos library. If the deleted photos are there, you can recover them easily: Log in to iCloud.com using the same Apple ID.
Resetting your iPhone will not make you lose everything on iCloud. An iPhone restore will only wipe the internal storage, it will not touch your Apple Account. Since the data on your iCloud is stored on your Apple account, it's safe, no matter what happens to your iPhone.
How to delete photos from iCloud but not iPhone. If you want to delete photos from iCloud but keep them on your iOS devices, make sure to disable iCloud Photos first. Go to Settings -> Apple ID (your name at the very top) -> iCloud -> Photos -> Toggle off “iCloud Photos”.
To delete a photo or photos from iCloud, log in on iCloud.com, and go to Photos. Then, simply select all photos and press the trash icon. This is the same as using Photos on iPhone or Mac; you'll need to go to your Recently Deleted folder to permanently delete everything.
If you have your iPhone, go to Photos -> Albums, scroll down, tap Recently Deleted, tap Select, then select all the photos and tap Recover. Your photos are back where they used to be. Easy! After that, select the photo you want to retrieve and tap Recover.
Switch Off iCloud
To delete an album, simply tap the red “-” button found in the top-left corner of an album image. Then, from the pop-up message, confirm the action by choosing the “Delete Album” button. You can delete any album other than the “Recents” and the “Favorites” albums.